Too Many Clothes, and Nothing to Wear

“I don’t have anything to wear!”  If you’re like I was, you have baskets of clean laundry waiting to be folded, baskets of laundry waiting to be washed, and still some laundry in your closet and dresser.  Yet, with all that, there isn’t anything appealing in your wardrobe.  This leads to an extremely cluttered closet and bedroom, way too much time spent choosing clothes in the morning, and a ridiculous amount of stress in life.  Here were some problems that I chose to solve in order to fix the situation.

1. Nothing fit.

 

In high school, I fluctuated between 145 and 155 pounds.  In college, I fluctuated between 153 and 168 pounds.  In January, I was 179 pounds.  Looking through my wardrobe, I discovered that my clothes ranged in size from 4 to 14.  Even though I had TONS of clothes, I had little that fit me well.

2. Nothing matched.

When I would go clothes shopping, I would buy something if it was cute and fit me well (although sometimes I bought things that were cute and would fit me well if I lost just a couple pounds).  Sometimes, I would take home a comfy skirt or an adorable top, only to discover that they didn’t match anything in my wardrobe.  Everything was uncoordinated.

3. Nothing was clean.

Since I was so busy, our washing machine was broken, and I had so many clothes, it was easy to put off doing laundry for two or three weeks at a time (if I wore everything that even kind of fit).  This led to four or five loads of laundry being taken all at once to the laundromat, washed, dried, and taken home to sit in the basket until I had time to fold them (that was a joke; I never had time to fold that much laundry).

What did I decide to do about it?

My husband had been doing a lot of research on minimalism, which prompted him to start going through his wardrobe.  I decided to join him.  Like any good 21st century American, I went on Pinterest for ideas of the most effective way to cut down on my clothing.  I discovered something called a “Capsule Wardrobe.”  I combined their theories with some ideas of my own, and I have loved the results.

Without a doubt, this has been the best thing I have ever done for my clothing!  I’ll post the process soon!

What have you done to cut down on your clothes?

One thought on “Too Many Clothes, and Nothing to Wear

Leave a Reply

