Ultimate Spaghetti

I don’t have a lot of time to cook, so I like to cook one big meal and eat it throughout the week.  Sunday after church is usually when I do my weekly cooking.  One thing my husband loves to eat is spaghetti.  My grandmother makes AMAZING spaghetti, and I tweaked her recipe a bit to fit my husband’s and my preferences.

My husband is especially fond of meat, so I usually double the beef and sausage when we make it.  It tastes amazing that way, too!

This makes enough for my husband and me to have spaghetti for dinner for a week.  If you don’t like eating the same meal that often, let the spaghetti cool, then put meal-sized portions in freezer bags and slip them in the freezer for later.
Let me know what you think!

Ultimate Spaghetti

 

Prep time: about an hour

Servings: about ten

 

Ingredients

(Meat)

1 lb ground beef

1 lb italian sausage

1 sweet onion (medium size)

Garlic powder to taste

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

 

(Sauce)

1 jar garlic and herb Prego

1 large can tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can mushroom stems and pieces

Garlic powder to taste

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

 

1 box spaghetti noodles

Directions

Fill a pot with water and put it on high.  When the water is boiling, add the noodles.  Stir occasionally, until the noodles are soft.  Drain.

*While you are waiting for the water to boil, begin the next step.

Dice the onion.  Put the beef, sausage, onion, and seasonings in a pan, cook until the meat is brown.

Combine the sauce ingredients in a pot, and cook until it begins bubbling.  When the sauce is finished, add it to the noodles and meat mixture.

I highly recommend serving with Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

